Stop It

a few years ago I started something different in terms of what I ‘give up’ for Lent. for the most part, Lent has always meant giving up something sacrificially to remind me of what Jesus did for me. but a few years back I started to concentrate on letting go of something that keeps me from experiencing all He has for me. after all, isn’t that why He did what He did?
below is a list (provided by Phil Ressler, pastor from NJ) of character traits, that for me, can always use some work no matter what time of year it is:

Guilt
Fear
The need to please everyone
Envy
Impatience
Sense of entitlement
Bitterness and Resentment
Blame
Gossip and Negativity
Comparison
Fear of failure
A spirit of poverty
Feelings of unworthiness
Doubt
Self-pity
Retirement (giving up)
Excuses
Lack of counsel
Pride
Worry

these are things I need to ‘give up’ daily, not just for Lent. but what a time to make a conscious effort to do so!

And God will generously provide all you need. Then you will always have everything you need and plenty left over to share with others. (2 Corinthians 9:8 NLT)

see also:
If You Can’t Say Anything Nice …

2 thoughts on “Stop It

  1. Pingback: If You Can’t Say Anything Nice … | #dailyisallilivefor

  2. Pingback: I Chose | #dailyisallilivefor

Leave a Reply

