Wide Open

do you ever care so much about something that words escape you when praying about it/them? it happens for me. maybe it’s because I don’t trust myself to pray the correct words or fear of praying about it from an incorrect perspective or I don’t know if I can make a difference or I just feel like I’m praying the same thing over and over. whatever the reason, I still know prayer is extremely important!
I hold steadfastly to the knowledge that the Spirit intercedes on my behalf but now I also write out my prayers. my main area of concern, my kids! I take scripture and personalize it to them. this blows the door off prayer. you can be as general or specific as you’d like.
take for instance Ephesians 3:16-19, one of my prayers looks like this:

I pray that out of Your glorious riches You strengthen them with power through Your Spirit in their being. so that You dwell in their hearts… I pray that they grasp how wide and long and high and deep Your love is. and to know Your love that surpasses knowledge- that they may be filled to measure [and beyond] of all Your fullness!
Amen!
the possibilities are endless!

And the Holy Spirit helps us in our weakness. For example, we don’t know what God wants us to pray for. But the Holy Spirit prays for us with groanings that cannot be expressed in words.
‭‭Romans‬ ‭8:26‬ ‭NLT‬‬

I pray that out of his glorious riches he may strengthen you with power through his Spirit in your inner being, so that Christ may dwell in your hearts through faith. And I pray that you, being rooted and established in love, may have power, together with all the Lord’s holy people, to grasp how wide and long and high and deep is the love of Christ, and to know this love that surpasses knowledge—that you may be filled to the measure of all the fullness of God.
‭‭Ephesians‬ ‭3:16-19‬ ‭NIV‬‬

Leave a Reply

