Let’em Go

I’m going to go out on a limb and say raising children is the most difficult “job” around. not only is it exhausting mentally, physically and emotionally, but also the responsibility that lies on parents’ shoulders is heavy. to teach them to be well rounded, upstanding, respectful, authentic, loving individuals is a tall order. and if that’s not enough, we then have to let them go out into this big, bad world.
the latter could quite possibly be the toughest of them all. their entire life up until this point was about teaching them right from wrong and doing your best to protect them from every potential harm. there comes a time when they must have the opportunity to put into practice all you’ve taught them… even if that means they fall. much of who we are (or are becoming) comes on the coattails of the mistakes in our lives.
so what does that mean for us parents– trust! trust in the perfect Father, who is not only in Heaven and can see the whole picture, but walked this earth and knows the struggles of this life. and trust in the one who is everywhere at all times! trust that what He did for you, He will also do for your children because He is the same “yesterday and today and forever,” for everyone!

Start children off on the way they should go, and even when they are old they will not turn from it. (‭Proverbs‬ ‭22‬:‭6‬ NIV)

Jesus Christ is the same yesterday and today and forever. (‭Hebrews‬ ‭13‬:‭8‬ NIV)

see also:
This Thanksgiving
Happy Mother’s Day

4 thoughts on “Let’em Go

  1. This couldn’t be more perfect for me than right now. The Lord knew I needed to read this today. I can’t remember a time in the last 24 years that I wasn’t worrying about one of my kids. When they were little I felt like I had more control. Now that I’m in the letting go stage, it’s even harder. You wish that they would just listen. God has shown me that my role is changing. I have to trust in Him, and let them fall if that is what must happen. I have stood by them, trained them up, loved, cared for, praised, disciplined and taught them for so many years that it’s hard to stop now. The sooner I learn this lesson, the better for my own sanity. They have to make their own way now.

    Thank you again for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I need to add something else. My oldest and I were having a conversation the other day about dating and non-negotiable traits. He told me two. She must have an excellent relationship with her parents, and she needs to be a Christian.
    Yes it is the toughest “job”!! But when your 24 year old single son says something like this!! All the Angels in heaven rejoice and all the trials turn to blessings!!!

    Like

  3. Pingback: This Thanksgiving … | #dailyisallilivefor

  4. Pingback: Happy Mother’s Day | #dailyisallilivefor

Leave a Reply

